What I Drank on Wednesday Night

I had to write this in past tense, because there was a little bit of a twist on my normal weekday drinking habit, and that was oil painting. I wanted to write this in advance, but as it turns out, I wasn’t sure if it was going to be fun in a fun way, or fun in a what-the-hell-this-is-hilarious kind of way.

Update: We had so much fun painting it was ridiculous. Although we were forced to listen to U2 all night (which I’m sure we can all agree is the worst band ever created), Dorothy (see below) described it as a birthday party where you get to leave with a present. We both agreed that the painting for the night (see below) looked like Armageddon-without-gravity-plus-jellybeans, and despite the fact that we tried to hang it up in someone else’s house on the way home from the bar so we wouldn’t have to look at it all the time, it sure was fun to make.

Back to past tense, Nevertheless, we started with Slane Castle Whiskey (Whisky), which is one of my new favorite bottles of anything. First, because its delicious. Second, its not expensive. And Third, its actually made in Slane Castle, and they have concerts at the castle, and I just love the whole ambiance of everything this bottle originates from. The family and the castle has been producing Whiskey since the 18th century. Its floral, and it really comes alive with ice cubes. It’s great on its own, but it makes quite the old fashioned as well. It’s the perfect accompaniment to Mad Men too, I love the nostalgia of it.

Anyway, painting…

I had some pretty rad black and white patterned jeans on (here…I think you can see I went through a pretty serious Rag & Bone phase) that I wish made it into the picture, but that’s ok.

The bf has commented on my overall good mood since this night, and we have agreed that all I need in life is arts & crafts, alcohol and cheese to be happy. So that’s my new plan…

Leave a Reply

