When The Boys Are Away, Drink Some Rose

So I’ve mentioned them before, but if Urban Grape wasn’t already my favorite wine shop (which they are) then now they are my more favoriter wine shop. Most favoritist. Which is impossible because they are already my favorite. Anyone still reading???

In the last week or so, Urban Grape opened its selection of Roses, and Lord help me if I don’t make it over there today. Every time I go into Urban Grape I come out with a bottle of wine that tastes nothing like anything I have tried before (in a good way). T.J. and his staff have compiled such a wonderful and unique compilation of bottles and producers that it seems impossible to go wrong. In fact, I find it hard to believe there is a bad bottle of wine in there…

But lets just say there is, for argument’s sake. (Assuming arguendo as they say in the intellectual world, when trying to, oh I don’t know, say its ok for the federal government to pick your doctor or, sheesh hmmm tell you how to spend all your money…) T.J. won’t let you have it. When you walk through the door, the staff pours you a glass of wine, starts chatting and helps you discover what you like and what you might not like as much. It’s brilliant. Then, by the way they have organized their selection, through weight, rather than by region, you can kind of guess that you like a whole wall full of wines rather than just a bottle. That way, you are free to discover new wines that you can feel more confident you will like, and if you don’t feel confident, you have an expertly trained staff to backstop you. It’s brilliant.

Image

More to the point, rose. I cannot wait to see what is going on over there and give a few a try. Sunny weather is always my impetus for my first rose, and even though its dreary out, I’ve already had my first bottle, so that statement is irrelevant. I broke the seal as they say in frat houses. 

Which I shouldn’t be saying because the whole point of this post is that the “frat house” of sorts that I associate myself with (if you consider Ivy-league educated, future lawyers “fratty,” which let me tell you, you should) is away on a softball-and-drinking trip which gives me time to finally finish bedazzling, settle the fight with my landlord, and paint my nails with glitter.

Image

4 thoughts on “When The Boys Are Away, Drink Some Rose

  1. Pingback: Inspiring Bottle of Wine…and Some Overdue Business | Daughter Elle

Leave a Reply

