Weekday Wardrobe (W)Happenings

I woke up this morning so stressed about my week and all of the various meetings, and to-dos that have piled up. Then, I thought, “Oh I need to make time to write my blog-post about all my fun eating and clothing adventures this week.” Then I realized, maybe I am not so busy after all. But, I am. It’s a law student’s job to constantly feel like the busiest person on the planet.

In discussions for my next project (big.huge.staytuned.) I talked with a dear friend about how hard it is to put yourself out there (i.e. take pictures of yourself) on a blog that your friends and moms are going to see. It’s terrifying. On the other hand, people are my mom is always telling me, “Laura you are so fashionable. And everything you do is delicious.” (Just kidding, she would never say that.) So who am I to be selfish and keep all my good ideas to myself?

So Tuesday. Silent Auction to benefit public interest law, followed by a self-interested dinner and drinks at Parish Cafe (On the patio might I add…in Boston…in March) and then a stroll down Newbury with the man-friend. For those of you who do not know Parish Cafe, it has a selection of sandwiches created by some of the best chefs in all of Boston. Additionally, some of the proceeds are donated to the church next door. It’s wonderful.

T-Shirt, Adam by Adam Lippes. Skirt, Rag & Bone. Jacket, Armani Exchange. Necklace, Cara Couture. Bag, Yumi Kim.

I’m going to warn you now, I have plans to repeat this picture, so stay tuned and ignore the graininess.

Then there was Wednesday. Girls night dinner to Sorrellina in the Back Bay. To me, modern Italian cuisine obviously means leather and denim. I chose to wear it upside down though, with brown leather shorts and a denim jacket.

Shorts, Calypso St. Barth. Bag, Hayden Harnett. Shoes, BCBG Max Azria. Mullet Shirt, Cheap Monday.

Yes, it was laundry day in the picture above. Sue me. But don’t because I’m a know-it-all law student who will win.

Sorrellina’s was wonderful. We went for restaurant week and ordered an exorbitant three courses. In the first two, Burrata with proscuitto and rhubarb chutney, and a rib-eye with gorgonzola butter and a cheesy baked potato, my only complaint was the overdone-ness of the potato. But let me say, Holy Butterscotch Pudding. Seriously. Holy moly, amazing.

Denim jackets are always intimidating to bring back out of the closet. This one is Abercrombie & Fitch (seriously) and a remnant of my high school days. I’m hoping that now that I am old it has become ironically vintage. Then again, I think that is the whole marketing scheme of A&F so it might be too ironic to be ironic. Shoot.

Oh, and then this happened. Not as dramatic as the $1,000 ones with the pump-up-tongue, but really quite fantastic. Plus, they have inspired me to play some pick-up bball games and get a flat-top hair cut.

Shoes, Nine West Lana Sneakers.

One thought on “Weekday Wardrobe (W)Happenings

  1. Laura – I love this blog – you are so funny and I love that you mention me so much.:-) I bought red jeans yesterday!! How do I let my friends know about this? Mom not elle 🙂

Leave a Reply

