What I Am Drinking On Wednesday Night

Well that detox lasted squarely through lunch…

So its March Madness, the best time of year for basketball fans. Really, if you can’t get into the Cinderella stories of this month each year, I would question whether you are a human. It’s so good.

Being that this time of year involves a lot of pizza and cheese dip, beer often feels more appropriate than wine. And even though the games take a hiatus on Wednesday, that is no excuse to get out of the holiday spirit. It’s hard to really get into the sports-fan mode without a beverage you feel comfortable drinking out of a plastic cup. I myself know very little about beer, but with the help of a few friends, I am undertaking to learn more. I am usually happy with a Sierra Nevada or a Blue Moon, but apparently limiting myself edges up against sacrilege within the beer-drinking community.

So I give you, something I can take no credit for, Idle Hands Triplication. Idle Hands is a local brewery, based out of Everett, Massachusetts. Triplication is a special release, said to be good for sipping during cold weather. I’m not about to let a little, ol’ 72 degree weather get in the way of my drinking though.

On St. Patrick’s Day, I tried a “Usual Suspect” from the same brewery called Pandora. It was sweet, with a little bit of caramel flavor. It was bright, citrusy and spicy but not heavy like I expect a lot of these “craft brews” to be. Missing all of that metal-can, and food coloring taste of most St. Patty’s day brews. Win some you lose some.

For those of you outside the Bay State, ask around for local breweries and try something new. I know there are plenty to be found in Colorado and New York at the very least. Let me know if you discover any winners.

So drink some beer. Dress up like your favorite team (dressing up as a Buffalo is hard, but I found this hat lying around and thought I would make something out of it). Cheer, celebrate and “sip” some beer. Tis the season after all.

7 thoughts on “What I Am Drinking On Wednesday Night

  1. Idle Hands sounds like a cool brewery. It looks like you make a good choice! I read about them through the link that you kindly provided. It’s one more brewery that was started by an avid home brewer. Yeah for them! Oh, enjoy the “madness’.
    Cheers,

    David Ivey
    BlackBucketBrew.com Inbox Magazine Editor

    PS. Check out our free e-book and beer mag.

    • David! Thank you for passing this along, I will certainly take a look at it. I am just learning about beer and I am always looking for new information. I really appreciate you getting in touch!! Thank you!

Leave a Reply

