The Best Thing I Ever Ate (Part II)

I thought about what I wanted to write about today, and then realized that I was limited to writing about food and eating, because I have done a lot of that lately. Similarly, my outfit choices as of late have been less than stellar, and I have no intention of lying to my dedicated readers mom about how fashionable I am.

Yesterday, my outfit said “Hello, I haven’t showered in a few days.” Which was true and probably apparent for other reasons than just my outfit. Today, my outfit says “Hello, I go to an all boys Catholic school, and also I am proud to be an American.” (Blue corduroys, red and white striped shirt, penny loafers. Seriously). My lack-of-outfit choices occasionally inspire concern in my boyfriend regarding his sense of declining social status. “What happened to me, that I am dating the stinky kid now?” You won the lottery, that’s what happened to you.

So the food. One day, of no particular relevance, I stumbled upon Matt Murphy’s Pub in Brookline, Massachusetts. It is a small storefront, and even though we sat at an adorable table in the front window, nothing about the surroundings prepared me for what was about to happen to my mouth.

The best Pastrami Sandwich ever created. To be fair, I ordered the fish & chips, which are served inside that bundle of newspaper in the photo above, and the bf ordered the pastrami sandwich. But after tasting both, I made a decision that we should trade. 

I’m not usually one to condone pastrami sandwiches, to me they are usually heavy, greasy, salty and a poor substitute for a cheeseburger. This sandwich is served on an onion roll with a creamy dressing, pickled onions, cheese and a perfect amount of moisture and meat to balance everything. It is a perfect sandwich. The fries don’t hurt, and the fact that Matt Murphy’s served homemade ketchup (that is somehow bubbly and almost carbonated) ensures that literally every bite is delicious.

The fish and chips are nothing to sneeze at (not that you should sneeze at any food). They are lightly battered, and not overly fried. There is a lot of fish, and they serve it with a homemade tartar sauce that is quite remarkable. No matter how much food they put in front of you, and its a lot, you will eat it all–it is that good.

Did I do it?

I did it!

But the sandwich. Oh man, the sandwich. Have I enticed you? Because now you need to do something for me. Matt Murphy’s has replaced the pastrami sandwich with a few others. A Corned Beef dish that is so-so-so-so good, but not the best ever. And a ham (?) sandwich that is delicious and wonderful but not my pastrami sandwich. Lobby for Pastrami. Go in for lunch, you will enjoy yourself I promise. Together, we can get it back. And then I’ll stop watching the news so I quit talking like a politician.

2 thoughts on “The Best Thing I Ever Ate (Part II)

  1. I can’t believe I’ve never heard of Matt Murphy’s and it’s right down the road from me… I am DYING to go now!! I don’t even like pastrami but I can’t not try after reading this post.

Leave a Reply

