Quarter Life Crisis (If I’m an Centenarian)

So here is the deal. I am a third year law student. I love my life, I have wonderful friends, and an amazing family. I have a lovely boyfriend who accompanies me on my culinary adventures and tolerates my fashion experiments. So a food and fashion blog. Now?

Let me tell you, life as a law student is no walk in the park. It actually means no walks in any parks. Often, after a day of debating something admittedly mundane, I come home and spend a few hours in the kitchen. It is often the only thing that clears my head. I pour myself a glass of wine, turn on my iPod (currently, I am listening to Active Child, Little Dragon, and Frank Ocean). I spent a few minutes rummaging through the contents of my kitchen, until inspiration struck.

My latest creation was a “Backwards Fondue” dinner. I made a savory chocolate fondue with bittersweet chocolate, honey, red wine, coriander, thyme, oregano, lavender, and cayenne pepper. I served it with cubed filet, aged chedder cheese, mushrooms, and fingerling potatoes. (Similar recipe here: Sandra Lee Chocolate Fondue). For dessert, I made a Swiss-Gruyere-Blue Cheese fondue, with sweet Marsala and garlic. I served it with Cinnamon Raisin Toast, Almond Cookies, Nectarines, and Prosciutto. Also, to make it more of a dessert, I paired it with a French Sauternes. (Try a Loupiac instead, it’s far less expensive).

The truth is, I love studying the law, and I look forward to practicing. But on certain days, I wonder if its truly for me. For instance, when you google “law student,” this is one of the first images that comes up:

Scientific I know… I’m sure she is quite lovely, well-accomplished, brilliant. I too, am often disheveled and blinded by anything above the brightness of a reading light. But, being that I see myself more like this, you can see why this is a conundrum for me:

All three images courtesy of JakandJil.com

So there you have it. A food and fashion blog. Now. I’m sure it’s clear already that I have amazing taste in both. I almost called this blog “GOOP 3,000” (For those of you who don’t know about Gwyneth Paltrow’s newsletter GOOP and have over $20 million, I suggest you head on over here). But really it’s just a celebration of the things that I love, and an exploration into where I am going. Thanks for coming along readers mom.

One thought on “Quarter Life Crisis (If I’m an Centenarian)

Leave a Reply

